All-time Broncos owners: Walton/Penner group will be first new owners since 1984 The Denver Post

All-Time Broncos Owners

For the first time since 1984, the Broncos will start a season under new ownership after a group led by Rob Walton and Greg Penner agreed to purchase the franchise on Tuesday night. A look at the previous owners:

Name Years Acquired
Bob Howsam 1960 Awarded AFL franchise after he was unable to acquire NFL expansion team.
Comment: The Broncos were 4-9-1 in their inaugural season. The home finale drew 5,861 fans.
Gerald Phipps 1961-80 Along with Cal Kunz, bought Broncos for less than $1 million.
Comment: Club didn’t make its first playoff appearance until 1977 when they lost to Dallas in Super Bowl.
Edgar Kaiser 1981-83 Purchased the team from Phipps family for $29 million in February 1981.
Comment: Kaiser hired coach Dan Reeves and owned the team when quarterback John Elway was acquired in ’83.
Pat Bowlen 1984-2022 Family bought Kaiser’s stake in the Broncos for $78 million.
Comment: Under the Bowlen flag, the Broncos won three of seven Super Bowl trips and 15 AFC West titles.

Source: Read Full Article