Government adds four more destinations to quarantine list in latest travel blow

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

The government has announced that four more territories have been removed from the official list of UK travel corridors.

From 4am on Saturday, travellers arriving in England from Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and the Caribbean island of Curacao will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps made the announcement on Thursday afternoon in response to a rise in coronavirus cases.

No destinations have been added to the exemption list.

Travel industry insiders have responded with dismay to the move.

Paul Charles, chief executive of travel consultancy The PC Agency, said: "It's sad to see the list of countries growing on the quarantine list in line with the resurgence of Covid-19 in several parts of the world.

"It now makes even more sense for traveller testing to be introduced as soon as possible, reducing quarantine times and enabling economies to get going again.

"A coordinated, global programme, combining testing with short quarantine periods if necessary, would help protect lives and livelihoods."

  • Brits face quarantine in every EU country under proposed 'traffic light' system

This is a breaking news story and is constantly being updated.

Please refresh the page regularly to get the latest updates.

Reporters working on will be working to source the latest information, reaction, pictures and video related to this story.

You can also follow us on Twitter @DailyStar to get the latest news updates 24 hours a day.

Or download the Daily Star app for flash alerts on the biggest stories of the day.

Why not also subscribe to receive our regular Daily Star news bulletins? You can do this on this page by simply entering your email address above and hitting 'subscribe'.

  • Travel Advice
  • Holidays
  • Lockdown
  • Coronavirus

Source: Read Full Article