Russia and China stay silent as neither congratulates new US President Joe Biden

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

Most world leaders have congratulated US president-elect Joe Biden after his historic win against Donald Trump.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel, for example, has called for the European Union and the United States to work "side by side", and described Joe Biden as an experienced leader who knows Germany and Europe well and stressing the NATO allies' shared values and interests.

But a handful of heads of state are holding out. Among them, most notably, Russian President Vladimir Putin and the Chinese leader, President Xi Jinping.

Biden is expected to maintain a tough stance on China. In the past, he has called Xi a "thug" and said would take steps to "pressure, isolate and punish China".

The Chinese government have said that they will wait and see before acknowledging America’ new president.

"We noticed that Mr. Biden has declared election victory," China's foreign ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin told reporters. "We understand that the U.S. presidential election result will be determined following U.S. law and procedures."

When President Trump was elected, in November, Chinese President Xi Jinping sent congratulations to the new president-elect a day after the election.

The Kremlin has also said it would wait for the official results of the election before commenting.

"We think it appropriate to wait for the official vote count," Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov told reporters on a conference call.

While, again, the Russians congratulated Trump almost as soon as the 2016 result was announced, Peskov said there was an obvious difference this time.

"You can see that there are certain legal procedures that have been announced by the current president,” he said. “That is why the situations are different and we, therefore, think it appropriate to wait for an official announcement.”

Other notable holdouts include North Korean leader Kim Jong-un, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, and Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro.

Janez Jansa, Prime Minister of Melania Trump’s homeland, Slovenia, has also declined to congratulate new president Biden.

Instead, he’s repeated Trump’s unsubstantiated allegations of voter fraud.

  • Joe Biden
  • Vladimir Putin
  • China
  • Russia

Source: Read Full Article